Five Types Of Courage II

Five Types Of Internet Marketing Courage I don’t feel courageous today, so it is a good day to write about courage. My first post on the Five Types of Internet Marketing Courage discussed the courage for self-examination. The web is a huge amplifier, so knowing who you are, what you stand for and how what you do saves the world a little are all important things to know.

You might wonder what I know about courage. I’m a cancer survivor, but that alone doesn’t mean I’m courageous. When I visited the Children’s Pediatric Center at UNC’s Lineberger Cancer Center yesterday I saw courage. Children playing with chemotherapy IV polls next to them is an inspiring sight.

In the summer of 2010 I set out on a bicycle ride from the Duke Cancer Institute in Durham to the Santa Monica pier in LA. I needed to know how much courage was in my tank. What could I take. Turns out, like all of us, I can take more than my imagination could dream. Martin’s Ride To Cure Cancer taught me courage is not being fearless. Courage is being more afraid than you’ve ever been and riding on.

We are all courageous. I use examples from my life in this post, but you have the same examples. We are the same. I’m no more or less courageous than anyone. We all wake up and fight the dragon one more day. We care about others and find the courage to live, love and find joy. Yesterday at the UNC Pediatric Cancer area children were children and joy was joy cancer or no. This post is about applying that lesson to Internet marketing by finding the Five Types Of Internet Marketing Courage:

Internet Marketing Courage #1 Courage To Examine Yourself

I covered this courage on my first post. In that post I talked about knowing yourself, “Warts and all”. No one is perfect. Internet marketing happens faster and faster. One idea you must give up to be a GREAT Internet marketer is the belief you are the kind of person who never makes mistakes. Sorry you are going to make mistakes. Mistakes often teach more faster than success, so as you conclude self-examination recognize and let go of any perfectionism as it will not serve you well and limit becoming a GREAT Internet marketer.

Internet Marketing Courage #2: Courage To Play Like A Child

I’m writing this post today because I was so moved by visiting the Children’s Pediatric floor at UNC yesterday. Children play with anything, anyone and at anytime. Yesterday was Halloween, so PLAY was the order of the day. Nurses were dressed as characters from the Grinch and children were laughing and playing.

To “play like a child” you must let judgment go. Judge and you lose the thread. Judge and you lose a potential play partner. Judge and you are the Grinch Who Stole Christmas. Think not judging people or situations with those knee jerk fast muscle twitches is easy? Try it. Go out tonight and accept whatever and whoever you see. Talk to two strangers. Accept whatever they say. Whoever they are. Now go home, play like a child and create some GREAT Internet marketing.

Internet Marketing Courage #3: Courage to FAIL

There are NO FAILURES in Internet marketing. I don’t mean everyone gets a trophy. Internet marketing costs money, time and ego. Every action creates an equal and opposite reaction. Even “failure” produces enough ashes that a Phoenix can rise again.

Lots of people TALK about having the courage to FAIL, few walk the walk. I’ve bet my 401K four times and have FAILED according to some. I’ve created 9 products you can’t find in a store. I ran into one of my products the other day, Poetryslam a Scrabble-like board game, on a game review site. Poetryslam had a pretty good review despite the fact I would NEVER do what I did then now (lol).

Internet marketing has a single epic failure – inaction. The web is almost sentient, almost a living breathing thing. It moves even if you don’t, so inaction creates the kind of pressure that can sweep you from the board. If you want to be a GREAT Internet marketer you will need to give up your fear of failure. You will need to refine what “failure” is or means.

Learn one thing, and you always do, is no failure here. Failing in the same way over and over is almost impossible. Even if you try you can’t do it because variables change and the web moves on its unstoppable track to infinity. Internet marketing is a train, a train you must get ON, hang on and hope it doesn’t toss you off. When it does, and believe me it will, GREAT Internet marketers dust off and run after the speeding bullet that just tried to crush them.

Internet Marketing Courage #4: Courage To Act

You may think of yourself as a man or woman of action. Good, now I’m going to trap you in a burning house with that rock music the CIA uses to drive our enemies crazy playing so loud your brain hurts then we will start randomly hitting you with a huge cushion and opening up a fire hose as you attempt to escape being whacked with the cushion. The final insult is we are going to speed time up so you have to make decisions very fast or your situation gets worse. Now act.

Coming down mountains on a bicycle at greater than 60 mph during Martin’s Ride To Cure Cancer is a good analogy for Internet marketing courage. The wrong idea at the wrong time would ruin my day (lol). When you ride so fast a mistake can kill you, your mind races but is calm and confident too. You settle down because the situation is clear. Sun Tzu talks of the courage of having nothing to lose.

This is NOT to say I never made a mistake on a bicycle at 60 mph. This is to say the mistakes I made on a bicycle or as an Internet marketer were usually the lesser of two evils. The key was to survive, learn and get better. Live to tell the story and the next story will be even better. Live to tell the story and you have courage.

Internet Marketing Courage #5: The Courage To Love

Love is the Killer app to quote Tim Sanders, a favorite author. In the middle of chaos, crushing speed and noise you must find, appreciate and create love. The Internet isn’t a JOB it is a belief system, a philosophy. The web isn’t about making millions, being all-powerful or loved by millions because of a simple human truth I may know a tad better than you.

We die, time is short and precious.

I read something important right after my cancer diagnosis. The author, I’ve forgotten who, wrote that knowing our mortality is important but can’t be what we care or think about every minute. My first reaction after hearing I have cancer was, “Now I can’t make my ride”. I asked my oncologist, Dr. Hank van Deventer at UNC, if he could treat me like Martin’s Ride To Cure Cancer was the most important thing. I explained that longevity wasn’t as important to me as realizing a dream and riding a bicycle across America. “I can do that,” he said and he did.

I’m in bonus time now (lol), so I’m most interested in sharing and giving things away. GREAT Internet marketers know life’s comedy and tragedy. Greatness may be defined by those who can create and share love, those who can help others, those who understand life’s situation and go on anyway.

By that measure I too am courageous. Was I a GREAT Internet marketer? I can’t answer that question since tomorrow is another day and there will be new dragons to slay. Let’s slay them together and then sit on the ground and tell tales of the death of kings and ride bicycles at the speed of sound or as close to it as we are likely to get.

Do you have the 5 types of courage needed to be a GREAT Internet marketer? The answer to that question is always YES.

Share your stories of Internet marketing courage. We are always more courageous together than alone.

:).Marty

Leave a Reply

